Domain will autorenew, domain gets synced then customer pay for renewal, what will happen?

DS-Dennis

Hello,

I just recently switched from a competitor so I monitor how WHMCS works closely.

Now I noticed (I did enable sync domains) a domain was automated renewed according the TLD requirements.

Then the cron runs and updates the domain expire date to November 2015 but the bill has yet to be paid by the customer.

Now it is to be expected that if the customer does pay his bill, the system is going to renew the domain at the registrar. Which results his domain will expire November 2016 at the registrar, then after the cron runs the expire date will get updated so he is not going to be billed next year?

I am just trying to foresee things as I am new to WHMCS or am just to worried and need some more confident in this system? If I am correct in this matter, what are the best options to avoid this behavior? Should I just disable the cronjob that syncs domains? Why would such sync be in place at all if it causes such havoc in terms of renewals?

I think the important point for you to remember is that renewals are triggered by the "Next Due Date", not the expiry date... so don't worry about what whmcs thinks the expiry date is, it doesn't use it to generate invoices.

when you say the domain was automated renewed, do you mean by WHMCS or directly with the registrar?

the usual procedure would be that the next due date would trigger a renewal invoice; upon payment by the client, whmcs would attempt to renew the domain via the registrar assigned to that domain, and also add a year (or whatever) to the next due date.