A bunch of newbie questions!

indieben

Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening (Afternoon here in the UK), 

Hoping that I am posting in the right place as I am a total newbie. Most things I think I feel relatively comfortable with but there are a whole bunch of competing views on the web about whether to use a CMS alongside WHMCS as a website hosting reseller or stick to WHMCS and making WHMCS work. Essentially that WHMCS is difficult enough to upgrade without the complexity of an intertwined CMS. 

Not to flame, I also read some negative comments about WHMCS too - I do not vouch for their accuracy of course around upgrading (and things breaking), a pricing change for those who had purchased (as opposed to I believe paid monthly) in relation to support being cut, and there being a lot of bugs that take a long time to resolve. I hope WHMCS would be and allow honest responses on this and that this paragraph does not cause any offence as it is not intended to. Also - Mods - the Copyright on the community page (below) still says 2020 :) (you might like to update this) as it crossed my mind as to whether this community was still active. 

The purpose of  me detailing some of the WHMCS criticisms above (whilst I'm sure i'm about to see lots of awesome things too) is because a lot of these were found in the context of my research about using a CMS with WHMCS. One of my concerns that has come to fruition (unless someone is going to point to a really easy way to add a template) is that, out of the box, WHMCS does not look very attractive. Of course, WHMCS is not going to be custom branded out of the box as the Developers are not mind readers!