Feedback after using WHMCS for 4 years (along with some solutions)

zomex

Hello everyone,

I want to post some feedback and opinions I have about WHMCS.

I've been using it for 4 years, the features and great and the price is significantly low for the value it provides my business on a daily basis. Personally I would like to see WHMCS increase pricing slightly if it's used to improve support.

Features VS security

Personally I would rather see new features scrapped for a couple of versions (or as long as it takes) and the full focus be on auditing the code and making enhancements to security. For example:

- don't include all of the modules with new WHMCS installations (gateways, servers etc). Instead only download the files of a module to WHMCS when it's activated by the user. This reduces the security risk if a module is found to have security issues as it would only put the installations of those who have it installed at risk. Personally I delete un-used modules but every WHMCS user should benefit from this by default. There's also obvious bandwidth advantages for everyone as you only download/backup what you're using, instead of every module that WHMCS supports. This can also be extended to custom modules, there's no reason why WHMCS should ship with the files for the project manager etc when most WHMCS users don't use them

This of course opens up risks if WHMCS's systems are compromised but if done correctly would be a good enhancement.

- Add the option (I say option because not everyone would like this feature) to automatically install security patches as they are released if one is available. We all know that patches can break features but I'd rather see a temporary loss of functionality while I'm asleep rather than my installation being at risk of being hacked

Adding support for automatic upgrades could also be done but it has a higher change of breaking things and doesn't relate to security so it's not as important.