Idea for design

Where do people get there ideas from when design a hosting company website.

I admit i'm not a designer and have a very limited design type mind. I've been hosting for friends and family and the odd business for over 3 years now and have taken the steps to becoming a "Real" host, i.e. got a server, bought WHMCS, got a company logo etc etc.

But i have no idea where to start on getting a website together.

Any ideas on where to get some ideas?

The best place to start is by looking at some of the most successful companies in whatever industry you are looking to get into. See what their processes are, what their designs are like, what they are doing different than other companies.

You will want to also want to think about what is going to set your site apart from everyone else. Why should someone sign up with you instead of site5, hostgator, theplanet, liquidweb, bluehost etc.

Make sure that you have a project plan that you can follow, and a great idea. Only then will your site become successful.

I hope this helps.

Do what Brett wrote and draw something out on paper to visualize it. Get your creative juices flowing.

But if you're not good with designing/making websites, then you might just want to purchase a premade template. I could even make you your website at a discounted price. Message me if you're interested, or message me if you simply want advice making/finding a website.

Good luck

in my personal opinion, sites that are easy to navigate, straight forward, simple to understand, and links that a CLEAR about what they are, is what works for me.

one thing that irks me to no end, is a very cluttered website, 1 and 1 is a perfect example.

just my 2 cents.

James

My main points are:

- The time for overkill/flashy (not the program, the showing off) has gone, tho it may come back they are quite unpopular are can lead to a host of browser related issuse.