become eNom reseller or not ?

ruben

hi guys,

I am new to the streamlining of orders and such. Until this point it was done by hand, but like majority of you - when clients are coming at large, you cannot do it without the automatization.

I just installed WHMCS and wow.. What a fantastic piece of software!

I am offering hosting and now I am thinking of re-selling(?) domain names as well - so it will be the entire package. All hosting packages have been set-up and they work great. Now the domain name..

I contacted my hosting company ( through whom I will purchase the reseller account with enom ), and asked them about the RESELLER ( I already have the retail account with enom ) account. As a reply I got this:

(...)

The default account that we set you up with through eNom is a 'retail' account. Most of our resellers choose this option because the only advantage of having a 'domain reseller' account would be that you can use eNom's automated registration scripts/API.

The downside of a domain reseller account as opposed to retail, is that there is a $100 deposit required. There are many fraudulent domain purchases, and unlike other things, there are no refunds on domain names through eNom or any other registrar.

We choose to do every domain registration manually, and therefore highly suggest you do the same and forgo the automation.

(...)

Now my question is as follow - on a long run would I benefit by registering everything by hand ?

To those of you who use enom and WHMCS - when a client wants to purchase domain and hosting ( whole package ), does the enom script purchases the domain name right away, without waiting for the client's payment clearance ?

If thats the case, I would understand the risks of getting RESELLER account and automatization script. However if the scripts is waiting for the client's fund to clear - and only after that - the domain is purchased on your behalf, then I don't see too much risk involved.. Am I right ?