Hooks for Older WHMCS Version 5.3.14

Hello All,

Hope I'm in the right topic category for this. I'm new to the WHMCS world and my employer is asking for some minor updates to the 'client area' of WHMCS. We are currently running version 5.3.14 and all I am trying to accomplish is show the client's current credit balance anywhere in the client area portal. I've already been through the Docs looking at hooks, but every "client area" related hook I've tried, has not worked at all.

For my test, I'm only trying the following:

<?php
add_hook('ClientAreaHome', 1, function($vars) {
    return "Hello World";
});
?>

I'm not sure if the hooks were named something different back in the earlier releases, or if I'm just not finding the right one to accomplish what I am doing. I've also seen conflicting help docs that indicate multiple areas where a 'hooks' related .php file can be placed, so any pointers on that would be appreciated as well. I'm also interested in knowing how to query info from the db inside of WHMCS, as the provided 'Capsule DBAL' seems to also not be working.

Thank you in advance for any tips or pointers in the right direction!

P.S. - Yes, we're planning an upgrade to the latest release, but we're a bit up the road from that task still.

You need to do the following to add a hook:

<?php

function testFunction ($vars) {
	return "Hello World";
}

// Hook point, priority, function name
add_hook("ClientAreaHomepage", 0, "testFunction");

10 hours ago, joel_pixelplow said:

I'm also interested in knowing how to query info from the db inside of WHMCS, as the provided 'Capsule DBAL' seems to also not be working.

Capsule is available since WHMCS v6.0. In older releases, you can use the SQL helper functions.

9 hours ago, joel_pixelplow said:

We are currently running version 5.3.14

ahh my favourite, and first, release - looks crap, but lightweight and works. ☺️