Showing "Payment Method" on Summary Page - Making it "Friendly"

Dear All,

I very much liked the code from @brian! to display (for products) the payment method.  Very neat.

However, I was wondering how you make what is displayed a little more friendly.  i.e. instead of mailin being shown, it should be shown as Mail Payment.  And instead of banktransfer it said Direct Bank Transfer.  Just something a little more readable or the clients. 

I am not an expert in coding, so would appreciate some understanding of how to achieve this. 

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Brad  

Hi Brad,

15 minutes ago, sanechoice said:

I very much liked the code from @brian! to display (for products) the payment method.  Very neat.

that's kind of you to say - a shame the thread got closed... it's a silly policy to close threads too early here, but there you go.

16 minutes ago, sanechoice said:

However, I was wondering how you make what is displayed a little more friendly.  i.e. instead of mailin being shown, it should be shown as Mail Payment.  And instead of banktransfer it said Direct Bank Transfer.  Just something a little more readable or the clients. 

the problem is that the template doesn't have access to that information - you'd effectively have to query the database to get the friendly name for mailin, banktransfer etc...

one way to avoid doing that would just be to use an {if} statement in the template instead, e.g change...

<td>{$product.dpaymentmethod}</td>

to...

<td>{if $product.dpaymentmethod eq 'mailin'}Mail Payment{elseif $product.dpaymentmethod eq 'banktransfer'}Direct Bank Transfer{else}{$product.dpaymentmethod}{/if}</td>

i99h13B.png

Hi Brad,

46 minutes ago, sanechoice said:

Thanks @brian! however, unless I am going mad (possible) I cannot see the below file in the templates folder.

sadly, going mad is one of the side-effects of using WHMCS - you likely won't notice it yet after two years, but it slowly creeps in during the third year! 😝