HostGator Reseller - Not PHP 5.6 Compatible

Sidular

I've been using HostGator for my storefront since 2012, and everything has been mostly fine. However, now that WHMCS is going to start requiring PHP 5.6 in the upcoming release, I decided to go ahead and upgrade my website to 5.6, via HostGator's PHP configurator.

Turns out, this doesn't have any effect on ionCube. So, some functionality that requires ionCube simply doesn't work, such as automation (cron).

I'm trying to get HostGator to upgrade their resellers to support 5.6 as native, but so far, they refuse to do so. When I stated that WHMCS will soon require PHP 5.6 to function, they didn't appear to understand, and said that WHMCS wasn't 5.6 compatible. They even tried to get me to upgrade to a VPS, which is absurd, since I only use their reseller plan to host the storefront.

So yeah, I guess this is just a PSA for anyone using or looking to use HostGator to host WHMCS. I can't speak for their shared hosting plan, but their reseller is soon to no longer be compatible with WHMCS. Which seems odd, considering as how they give away licenses, and offer a reseller service to begin with. They're essentially making the entire reseller platform useless by not offering modern technologies.

I'm hoping that this is just an oversight. Their tech support (which was live, since they don't offer ticket anymore) gave me an email to contact. Hopefully I can get HostGator to modernize their reseller network, though I doubt I'll make much (or any) difference.

I do have a question though. Are they even allowed to no longer offer compatibility with WHMS, being as how they're a partner? You'd think that this would void their partner status, right?

Anyway, thanks for reading. Sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong section.