Forum ettiquette and the "snark" factor

I don't know how many people will see this under "General Discussion", but I'll give it a shot anyway.

Although my website hardly reflects it, I've been doing hosting since 2003. I've tried many different billing systems (WHMAP, Lpanel, AWBS, ModernBill), plus a few I tried to install but didn't work with my system (namely UberSmith).

With each new system, I found the best place to learn was the support forums. I read, I use the search function, but especially with a system that processes receivables, the frustration factor can escalate when the answer can't be found. What may be simple to someone outside of the situation isn't always to the person who's been up all night tearing their hair out with a problem.

I spend a lot of time on the cPanel forums and I too get tired of reading/answering really BASIC, stupid questions. IMO, anyone who calls themselves a web host should KNOW what SSH is. You'd be amazed how many in that forum *don't*. Now to me, that is the ultimate in "stupid questions." Yet there are still people who answer them, politely and patiently.

Back to my point. In all of the billing software forums I've been in/around, there's always been a certain group of snarky people, who seem to revel in knowing something no one else does. The snarkiness feeds upon itself, much like a group of schoolyard bullies.

In the WHMAP it got BAD, and surprisingly the worst offenders were the moderators. Some of them ended up being fired over their attitudes with paying customers.

I've been here since November 2006. Aside from one heck of a KICK-ASS product, and Matt being really easy to communicate with (not all programmers are), I've loved the helpful atmosphere of this forum. People come in here to help each other, not to get into "oneupmanship" or play games when someone has a question or problem.