Automatically close fraud accounts (CRON)

KuJoe

I wrote this quick cron job to automatically close accounts that had products/services marked as fraud (currently runs every other minute). I considered doing a hook but since this job only runs for a few seconds and requires no CPU resources I figured it's just as effective. Plus, I am still learning the hooks. :D

With this code I created a new table in the WHMCS database called "fraudclose" to keep track of the UserIDs that are closed by the script. I am no developer by any means so please feel free to point out any flaws or if you know of a better more efficient way to handle this I am all ears. :D

(I keep the file above my public_html directory so it is not web accessible.)

<?php
$db_host = "localhost";
$db_username = "user";
$db_password = "password";
$db_name = "database";

$con = mysql_connect("$db_host","$db_username","$db_password");
if (!$con)
 {
 die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
 }
mysql_select_db("$db_name", $con);

$query = "SELECT tblclients.id ".
"FROM tblclients, tblorders ".
"WHERE tblclients.id = tblorders.userid AND tblclients.status = 'Active' AND tblorders.status = 'Fraud'";
$result = mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

// Print out the contents of each row into a table 
while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)){
$userid = $row['id']; 
$updateq = "UPDATE tblclients SET status='Closed' WHERE id='$userid'";
$insertq = "INSERT fraudclose VALUES ($userid)";
mysql_query($updateq) or die(mysql_error());
mysql_query($insertq) or die(mysql_error());
}
mysql_close($con);
?>

Edited by KuJoe

• 3 weeks later...

I have re-wrote this to be an action hook and have removed the fraudclose table as most of us keep track of frauds using the already built in whmcs accounts search feature.

<?php

function close_fraud_accounts_hook($args) {