Please help me update my templates

rbro

I'm not good at this kind of thing, but I want to be able to do it myself and understand it and not have to hire a designer or programmer every time I upgrade WHMCS. When I had my site redesigned, I had the designer make some customizations to the whmcs templates which resides in /templates/main. The "updated" templates, since upgrading to 3.4.1 reside in /templates/default. So in order to be up to date, do I need to go through each .tpl file in my main directory and copy the headers and footers into the corresponding .tpl file in the default directory and then point the WHMCS config to default? What about style.css and invoicestyle.css. Can I just replace those? I appreciate someone helping to walk me through this a bit.......We're also integrating with Kayako to view and submit tickets, so I want to be sure not to break anything.

The best way to begin to understand the changes is to use a comparison tool. I personally use Beyond Compare. This tool allows you to compare entire folders (choose "main" as one, and "default" as the other) and highlight changes between versions. Using something like that, you should be able to spot what needs copying, and even use the tool to copy these changes from the new ones to your existing templates. Before you know it, you'll understand a bit more of how the templates work.

The CSS is unlikely to have changed, but you can use the above tool in the same way to check. Let me know if I can be of any help.

The best way to begin to understand the changes is to use a comparison tool. I personally use Beyond Compare. This tool allows you to compare entire folders (choose "main" as one, and "default" as the other) and highlight changes between versions. Using something like that, you should be able to spot what needs copying, and even use the tool to copy these changes from the new ones to your existing templates. Before you know it, you'll understand a bit more of how the templates work.