How to set up hook to make DNS management automatic?

I took the part of the registration process where the viewer clicks "DNS management" out, as I found it confusing. I would like to allow my clients to manage their DNS settings if they choose to do so, and would like to set it up so that DNS management is automatically turned on. I understand that in their account area along with their support tickets and invoices, will be an area to manage DNS.

I have heard that I need to set up a hook to make this happen, but I am not a programmer. Is there some existing code that I can paste in?

I would be super appreciative if anyone can point me in the right direction. Thanks!

This code should do it for you... I tested it on my dev setup so it works :)

Just to confirm what it does: it will turn DNS Management ON for EVERY domain in your system. If that's not what you want, don't install it!

<?php

// Written by Josh Bonfield - josh@b-digital.biz

// Place these lines in a file called autodns_manage_hook.php in the /includes/hooks/ folder

// On the daily cron, it will search for all who have DNS management as OFF and set it to ON.

function autodns_manage_hook()
{
   // Set all DNS Management options to ON

$sql = "SELECT id FROM `tbldomains` WHERE `dnsmanagement` = '';";
   $sql = mysql_query($sql);

while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($sql))
   {
       // Loop through & set them all to 'on'
       $sql2 = "UPDATE `tbldomains` SET `dnsmanagement` = 'on' WHERE `tbldomains`.`id` =".$row["id"].";";
       $sql2 = mysql_query($sql2);
   }
}

add_hook('DailyCronJob', 0, 'autodns_manage_hook');

?>

• 2 weeks later...

Not really sure why you're looping through all the domains, its not really needed other than to add extra fluff to basically a one-liner.

Try this:

function autodns_manage_hook()
{
     update_query("tbldomains", array("dnsmanagement"=>"on"), array("dnsmanagement"=>""));
}

add_hook('DailyCronJob', 0, 'autodns_manage_hook');