Need help with URLs in dropdown menu

adg273

Hi,

First off let me explain that i'm not a developer, so i'm new to most of this, so please bear with me.

I have created hooks that change where the product categories point to on both the navigation bar and the categories sidebar.  However, on smaller screens, it resorts to using a drop down box and you switch product categories using this method (Image attached). As a result, these still point to where they would as default.

I need these to point to the new locations too. Can anyone advise me how I do this please?

Support added this when I queried how it worked;

In this case, you would likely want to modify the templates/orderforms/standard_cart/sidebar-categories-collapsed.tpl file.

As you can see, this is simply a quick action menu offering some various navigation options. You could use the smarty logic here to dynamically change the link if desired here!

I wasn't entirey sure how I go about achieving what I needed with this information, since I looked at sidebar-categories-collapsed.tpl and I can't see how this helps me.  When asked to clarify how I do this, they pointed me to here.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Screenshot 2019-06-19 at 17.16.43.png

Actually, my apologies, Ive worked it out.

Surprisingly simple actually. Although possibly not the most ideal way to do it, but it works exactly as intended.

For anyone else looking for the same thing, what I did was manually change the options within sidebar-categories-collapsed.tpl

For example;

<optgroup label="Product Categories">
                   <option value="https://target-domain.com/cloud-hosting/">Cloud Hosting</option>
                   <option value="https://target-domain.com/web-hosting/wordpress-hosting/">WordPress Hosting</option>
</optgroup>

and changed the  <select> tag to include - onchange="location = this.value;"

<select name="gid" class="form-control" onchange="location = this.value;">