cPanel Single Sign on always uses IP address

taterkakes

Since the update any of the cPanel login links are using the IP address only, which combined with SSL is causing certificate errors to show up, doesn't look very good. On the last 5 version it used the server hostname without any problem. I've been unable to find any template direction on where this is defined to see if I could remedy it.

Is anyone else having this problem?

I have since found that each time I attempt to use the links for single sign on the following entry is placed in the activity log:

"Single Sign-On Request Failed with a Fatal Error:"

It does still redirect to cPanel and appears to sign in with the correct user, but it does only do so using the IP address.

I'm also having the exact same issue. I've put in a ticket, I'll let you guys know the response. This is definitely an issue with 6.0, I'm waiting for them to look at the issue on my server before I role-back. Luckily I'm really new to reselling and don't have any clients yet. I'm still in a learning stage. But at least this gives me a better idea that the problem doesn't lie with me.

Make that three of us. I'm about to go live with my new hosting business and I decided to upgrade to V6. The new Six template looks great but the single sign on does not work as you have described. I've noticed also that the Quick Shortcut icons don't take you to the relevant cPanel pages on the site. They default to the main cPanel page once I get past the certificate warning (because I'm using an IP address and not the URL). I look forward to the results from your support ticket Tom-S

My workaround to this was simply to copy the hostname into the IP Address field when you are in the Edit Server page of the admin area.

The error magically disappears and single-sign-on works.

I'm not saying that's the best or right method, but it worked and so I'm happy.