To Integrate WHMCS into existing site or build a site around WHMCS?

HostBizLng

Hello,

I probably don't understand really yet, but as I read documentation about customizing WHMCS, I read about adding custom pages to the client area or building an entire site around your WHMCS system.

My original idea was to build a site and integrate WHMCS into it.

Q: What are the basic advantages and disadvantages of building an entire site around WHMCS system compared to building separate site with WHMCS integrated into it?

I am new to WHMCS and web design and coding in general, so my apologies if many of my questions in this forum wouldn't be much helpful, to the rest of the users, at least for a while until I get my head around it.

Thank you!

First of all welcome to the WHMCS world, you'll love it!

Q: What are the basic advantages and disadvantages of building an entire site around WHMCS system compared to building separate site with WHMCS integrated into it?

All depends on your site.

I personally have a Joomla! install/site for my main site, so i liked the features of Joomla! for my www. But the features of whmcs pwn for the cart/customer management. Its all about the right tool for the right job.

I read about adding custom pages to the client area or building an entire site around your WHMCS system.

To sucessfully integrate a site to whmcs you only need to edit the template files. The main ones are header.tpl and footer.tpl. Editing these required basic html knowlege. More info can be found here in the wiki.

A spammer can offer this service at a un beatable price
As do the very people behind WHMCS