Arrays don't seem to be returning anything

1337ts

I'm relatively new to php coding, so bear with me.

I'm trying to code a module that will simply execute a function from a class that i've included into the module file. When I try to execute the function, it returns an error. This error is resulting from it not being given the correct variables by WHMCS I believe. Here is the code I have

function teamspeak_SuspendAccount($params) {

# Code to perform action goes here...
$ts=new tsac();
$ts->connect("$serverip",51234,"$serverusername","$serverpassword");
$ts->stopserver($customfields[port]);
   if ($successful) {
	$result = "success";
} else {
	$result = "failed";
}
return $result;

If I change $result = "failed" to $result = $ts->error it will return the error normally. The error suggests that the port number provided in the function argument is invalid, or nonexistent.

If I change the output of another function called by WHMCS, teamspeak_LoginLink($params) to "echo print_r($customfields)" where WHMCS would normally show a cPanel link, or something similar, it has only a 1(the number 1, and no other text) It's not being turnicated by the page itself; I checked the source and could not find the word "array" anywhere, something that's typically in the print_f of an array.

Now, for the real kicker: If I change $result = "failed" to $result = print_r($customfields) WHMCS says "Module Command Success

Service Suspended Successfully" but the actual script was not executed properly as if it had been, the TS server would be offline.

I'm lead to believe that the issue lies in using the correct variables and arrays, but I can't find anything to explain (in more detail than the readme pdf that came with the devkit) exactly how you would go about using any of these. For example, the description in the template says

"$customfields = $params["customfields"]; # Array of custom field values for the product"