Jump to content
Vox

Inactive clients with a credit balance WILL be deleted

Recommended Posts

Hi Guys,

A warning regarding the automated process for deleting inactive clients following a ticket I raised......

Firstly, the fourth criteria here https://docs.whmcs.com/Data_Retention_Policy_Automation is completely "reversed". An affiliate with a credit balance will NOT be deleted.

However, what is more relevant (well, it occurred to me at least) is that any client who is not an affiliate but has a "genuine" credit balance on their account WILL be deleted, as this falls outside of the 4 criteria being checked.

I have been asked (and duly complied 🙄) to submit a feature request: https://requests.whmcs.com/idea/include-credit-balance-check-before-deleting-inactive-clients

I just thought that I should share this in case someone gets caught out.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Vox said:

I have been asked (and duly complied 🙄) to submit a feature request: https://requests.whmcs.com/idea/include-credit-balance-check-before-deleting-inactive-clients

I just thought that I should share this in case someone gets caught out.

A feature request? I should think something like this deserves a bit more attention that a 4 year wait to see if it's an issue that needs fixing (or is in fact a feature that needs discussion). 

Edited by bear

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, Vox said:

Firstly, the fourth criteria here https://docs.whmcs.com/Data_Retention_Policy_Automation is completely "reversed". An affiliate with a credit balance will NOT be deleted.

that is true and makes much more sense that what the docs say.

21 minutes ago, Vox said:

However, what is more relevant (well, it occurred to me at least) is that any client who is not an affiliate but has a "genuine" credit balance on their account WILL be deleted, as this falls outside of the 4 criteria being checked.

hmm... I wonder if a cron hook that runs after the client status sync, but before the pruning task (I assume they occur in that order), that sets a client with a positive balance to Active status.... under those circumstances, I don't think the pruning task would touch it... though whether that would impact on active client numbers and your license level i'm not sure.

this is one of those features that I would never enable... though if I did need it, i'd probably write my own pruning task hook where I determine the conditions and skip the default cron task option... if the PreDeleteClient had an abort option, then that could be useful here,  but then we're down the road of submitting another feature request.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use & Guidelines and understand your posts will initially be pre-moderated