Jump to content

Spammer - WHMCS not blocking

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

We have a problem with a spammer using the ticket system, even though reCapcha is enabled.

email is eric.jones.z.mail@gmail.com

His email is also blocked in WHMCS, but somehow he keeps submitting tickets.

Keywords he is using are also blocked.

Any ideas?

When I click on Block Sender, I get

Spam Control Update Failed
This email address is already on the blocked email senders list


Edited by StarburstHost

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Spam Control only checks imported mails. It doesn't check anything if the ticket is created via the ticket form.

You would need to create a hook to block the email address from submitting tickets. Ideally you would return not an error message, but a success message so that he does not adjust his method.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, StarburstHost said:

Well that spam feature is useless then. 😕

are they using the same IP each time they submit? if so, you could block their IP via your hosting panel, or even htaccess.

also, do a Google search on that email address - you're are not alone and seems to have a similar outlook.com address too.

17 hours ago, StarburstHost said:

I'll try & lookup how to do that hook.

the hook itself is nothing special...

add_hook('TicketOpenValidation', 1, function($vars) {
	if ($vars['email'] == "eric.jones.z.mail@gmail.com") {
		return "Go away you little spammer!";


similarly, you could see if his website is mentioned in the ticket message and block them that way too.

if you can identify an IP (or block) for this spammer, then i'd probably go down that road... the problem with validating the ticket is that if they really want to spam you, they'll just change the email address/message to get past the check (even if you faked it to look like a success message).

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites


Thanks. Will get that setup. Funny than just stopping the entry.

They keep using different IP's to post from.

Still curious how they keep getting past the reCaptia also.
Unless it's not a bot, but someone overseas cutting & pasting.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Bloody Eric! Yes, different emails/ips are used by (It would seem, same person/group) But the same name! I removed the contact form and sent the link into tickets then the tickets started! I wrote something similar but without an abundance of funnies! Kudos! 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use & Guidelines and understand your posts will initially be pre-moderated